RSS

GP Appointment

08 Mar

Today I went to see the GP. I haven’t been to this doctor’s surgery before and so just accepted the first appointment available and I ended up seeing a locum. I explained how I felt and very briefly mentioned what had happened to me. I told her that I had been really struggling with my emotions and especially worried as I keep thinking that the only answer is suicide. I tried to be as open and honest as I could and as a result she prescribed me an anti-depressant and asked me to make an appointment to go back next week.

I really don’t know about taking any tablets. I think that I am feeling this way because of what happened to me and not because of being depressed (think that’s a symptom of, not a problem in its own right). However, after a lot of thought I have decided to give the anti-depressants a go as I don’t think I could feel much worse than I do now so why not?!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “GP Appointment

  1. Anonymous

    October 12, 2011 at 10:15 am

    GP’s are so quick to prescribe anti-depressants when they know very little about them, and whether or not they are a good idea x.

     
    • femaleptsd

      October 12, 2011 at 2:30 pm

      hi there – from past experience I tend to agree with you about GP’s being quick to prescribe – however I have to stick up for my current GP as she has been amazing. She has referred me to places when I was close to giving up and kept on their backs until I got some help. We also spent quite a lot of time talking about if anti-depressants were the right course of action for me (after giving them time to get in to my system) and the referral to the psychiatrist was due to her admitting her knowledge wasn’t great enough to make a good decision – that in my mind is a great GP. I’d much rather they say that than pretend they know everything.

      It doesn’t sound like you have had a good experience with them and hope that’s not the case!

       
  2. Catherine Ann McArdle

    February 28, 2013 at 5:55 am

    My sexual abuse & rape happened when I was in my early teen so our experience is a little different but still results in trauma & I too have PTSD. It also causes depression. Im reading this start to finish so Im hoping you’re in a better place now. I’ve tried all anti-depressants on the market. But, the fact is I don’t have a chemical imbalance that would make me depressed & doctors know that. Anti-depressants are there for people who have this chemical imbalance & they respond to this medication. Trust me, Im the queen of pill popping! But what I do know, from years off experience is that anti-deppressants don’t help people like us. Their not designed for people dealing with trauma & that might be funny coming from what you know about me!

     

Leave a Reply

 
