RSS

Change of GP

29 Mar

It has been a tough day today. I went to see a different GP and telling her my ‘story’ just brought everything back again and I just sat and cried in her room. She changed the tablets I was on to paraxotine 20mg and said these were better matched to me and mentioned post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) as a potential diagnosis. She told me she was going to ask for an assessment and someone would be in touch to speak to me because she was concerned at how ‘flat’ I sounded and how I didn’t seem to have any desire to live. To be honest I felt in a different world and didn’t really take anything in that she was saying. I don’t really know much about PTSD and so am going to try and do some reading around it and see how to get better.

The one thing I am feeling positive about though is this GP seems to really care and wasn’t bothered that the consultation actually took 20 minutes and in no way did I feel pressured in to leaving. I am hopeful that with her help I can really overcome this whole thing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
