RSS

A Few Explanations

03 Dec

On my last post, it was brought to my attention (thanks Mike) that some things I mention, I assume everyone knows what they are and also that I have referred to something a few times but never actual explained. So this post is just a brief explanation of some things:

I use cc a lot – for those that don’t know (and I never did), this is my care co-ordinator. She works for the community mental health team and is a social worker. She is like my point of contact for any issues and is the one who referred me to psychotherapy (CBT and EMDR) and has access to a number of other services that my GP doesn’t. I see her once a week and has been amazing.

CBT – Cognitive Behavioural Therapy – a type of therapy that I have discussed on here in the past

EMDR – Eye Movement De-Realisation – all I really know about this is that it is based on how the brain processes memories. Apparently, in the rem stage of sleep, normal memories are dealt with but with a traumatic event, the memory never truly gets processed and so flashbacks etc happen. EMDR is supposed to mimic the eye movement of rem and therefore process the memory properly. I’ve probably got that completely wrong, but that’s what I believe it is!

NLP – Neuro Linguistic Programming – this is using language to understand how we work. It is hard to explain what it is and I’m actually very dubious about the true NLP. I generally take from it what I like and leave the rest behind. It is also about using modalities (eg visual, audio, kinesthetic) to change memories. It plays on the fact that you are the director of your own movies and so if for example you are thinking of a happy time – you are supposed to think how it looks, feels (eg, is the image in 3rd or first person, is there sound, is it black and white or colour etc). These are called sub-modalities and you use these to transfer to a bad memory and you can’t attach the same emotion to it. I know I’ve not done a very good job at explaining it but it is difficult without waffling on for a long time!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “A Few Explanations

  1. Mike

    December 4, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I hope I didn’t prompt you into revealing more than you wanted to.

    I can see more than ever now why you feel like you’ve been betrayed by certain people.

    Are you off to the crisis place tomorrow?

     
    • femaleptsd

      December 5, 2011 at 12:35 am

      No, not at all – I sometimes forget that people aren’t in my head knowing what has gone on in my life!!

      I’m not sure – I have the place but I am beginning to think it isn’t a good idea now – confused!

       

Leave a Reply

 
