RSS

Blue Monday

16 Jan

I am in a bad place which means I might be a touch more sensitive than I normally am but one thing is really getting to me today. This whole concept of blue Monday. I saw a headline “Today is Blue Monday for Depressed Brits” and think that sums up the ignorance attached to depression. It’s also all over the social media “tips for the depressed to get through blue Monday”.

So here is my issue; feeling low because of ‘normal’ life stresses is NOT depression. I do not choose what day of the week or year I feel like I’m in a black hole. This whole concept only strengthens the stigma attached to mental health that people should just ‘get on with it’ and cheer up.

Today I feel like I don’t have a way out. I feel like there is no end to what is happening to me. I feel that the only choice I have is which method I die by in order to stop this pain. I don’t feel this way because it is the 3rd Monday in January!!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Blue Monday

  1. rjbuxton

    January 16, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Very well expressed. I hate it when people act as if they never have a negative thought. We don’t get to choose when we feel bad (or when we feel good, for that matter) and I think the whole ‘blue monday’ idea shows how our society deals with everything that doesn’t fit into a fixed set of values – be it race, age, sex or mental illness. Let’s just give it a label and laugh.

     

Leave a Reply

 
