RSS

Too High Risk?

03 May

I saw my care co-ordinator today and in my last email I mentioned that I was waiting to see if I could go to a crisis accommodation place. Well she has been liaising with the manager and had to send over my care plan and a risk management document. It turns out that I am too high risk and they aren’t sure I can stay there.

I have to go and see the manager next thursday and see if they can help in any way. If I’m honest, I feel really confused. I thought the name gave it away that the place is for people in crisis and so surely there is going to be an element of risk associated with people going there?

My cc said on paper I look really bad and it’s only because she knows me, she knows that’s not the case. She also assured the manager that if I promise something, I stick to my word!

I feel like I’ve extended my hand for help and had it slapped away – really don’t know if it’s worth going on Thursday as I can’t handle the feelings of rejection that might come up!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Too High Risk?

  1. hormonesandme

    May 3, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    U must go! This system is so fooked up its not true. My friend and I have a long term mission – to open a crisis centre – for people exactly like you. People who need help and are failed by the nhs.

     
    • femaleptsd

      May 3, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      good luck with that!!! It seems there are so many gaps in systems!

       
  2. Belinda

    May 3, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Go or not, the choice has to be yours. The system isn’t perfect and it tells us how we should feel and who they think we are… tries to put us into perfect little psychological boxes that they can understand. It would be a very brave thing to stand up, go and tell them why you deserve their help. And there is something that stops you each time from taking that extra one.. two.. ten tablets that would change your overdoses from being a coping mechanism to being an attempt of suicide. Search your precious heart and soul and tell them what is stopping you and why they should give you this chance to take their help and believe in you. I have faith in you whatever your decision. But.. it’s your choice. You’re an individual and you don’t fit into that perfect little box. If now isn’t the time to go, another time it might be right. Hope you realise how strong and precious you are xx

     
  3. sqezekid

    May 4, 2012 at 5:07 am

    That is ridiculous – as you say, it is “crisis accommodation”! I have been trying to get intervention from the local NHS crisis team, but they don’t have the funding. So they gave me a 24 hour telephone helpline – whenever I’ve phoned, I get an answering machine and they never return the calls!
    I don’t think there is any real mental health care out there at the moment.

     

Leave a Reply

 
