RSS

Therapy update

15 Oct

Last month I mentioned that my therapist was going on maternity leave and that I’d been told I would be put back on the waiting list (6-9months) in order to carry on.

Today I had an appointment with my care coordinator (cc) and she’d spoken very briefly with both my psychiatrist and therapist this morning so they could all arrange a meeting to discuss properly. It seems now, that my cc has been fighting my corner, and it looks like I won’t be taking a long break – which is great!!

The options that are flying around at the min seem to be three fold:

1) They are replacing my therapist on a part time basis and so would be for her to take over. However my current therapist doesn’t want the remaining time to be a handover period because we are going through a really rough patch, but one we are pushing through. This is essentially the nightmare exposure work I’ve mentioned. It is extremely difficult for me to deal with it all and the other memories that are coming through are making me sleep deprived and emotional to say the least!! She thinks we are at a crucial stage and introducing someone new into my remaining sessions would be counter-productive. The alternative for this is for the new psychologist to be introduced to me via my cc appointments.

2) I see an existing therapist who they think is easy to get on with and therefore I could build trust and rapport relatively quickly so we can start off from where I left off. There would be a break until she gets a slot available for me.

3) To add an extra session with my cc and do some self help stuff (like dbt) with her having supervision from a psychologist. At the same time, I would be put on one of those original waiting lists for 6-9 months.

I’m really pleased that we have a lot of options now available, as opposed to the original plan I was told! Apparently everyone is really pleased with how hard I’m working at the min in terms of therapy and lack of self abuse and all three of them see me being able to get better (be it a long path I’m on)

In terms of the above options, I’m not too sure which I’d chose. I don’t think I like the thought of 3 as I see my relationship with cc completely separate from any kind of psychology work. But they have arranged a meeting in November and whilst they want to sit and chat about it for half an hour, they then want me in for the second half. All three say I know my mind (aka stubborn!) and have not only a valuable contribution but also the ultimate say in the next step. It feels like I’m in control of the situation and for someone who has been through what I have, it feels right.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Therapy update

  1. theWriteRach

    October 15, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Oh wow, what positive news. Three cheers for CC fighting your corner!

    I know you’re working really hard, so pleased they see it too.

    Hope this news has given you a wee boost.

    Thinking of you lots.

    Rxx

     
    • femaleptsd

      October 15, 2012 at 7:11 pm

      Thanks Rach! Yeah am grateful to my cc & also to therapist for recognising that the introduction of someone in to session now would be detrimental! x

       
  2. revpamsmith

    October 15, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    That sounds so positive, you’re in such a different place from a few months ago. So glad that there are some constructive ways ahead and you are being consulted. X

     
    • femaleptsd

      October 15, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      Thanks Pam! I feel in a very emotionally vulnerable place right now but due to therapy rather than the self abuse I was putting myself through regularly, so hopefully that will decrease as we go on. And yeah, at least there seems to be a path now which was a roadblock before x

       
  3. Debi

    October 15, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    You’re awesome. And that is all I have to say. xx

     

Leave a Reply

 
