RSS

That Friday Feeling….

26 Oct

It’s 3 o’clock on a Friday afternoon and most of my social media pages are filled with comments about it nearly being the weekend and how great it is (especially as the clocks go back and we gain another hour). And I’m really pleased for my friends who are looking forward to 2 days off, but then there is the reality…

Friday for me means getting through days knowing there is very little support around. Especially the way I am feeling at the moment, where suicidal thoughts are on my mind a lot, knowing that there is very little help is a hard thing to deal with.

I am told to go to a&e if I get bad. Again, a reality check. A&E at weekends is probably their busiest time – full of drunks and people going out for a good time (that has gone wrong in some way). Is this a place I would take myself if I was feeling like I would act on my suicidal thoughts? No, it really isn’t. I’m sure there are exceptions to the rule but whenever I’ve been in a&e after an od, I have been patronised and made to feel like I’m wasting their time.

So with a&e really not being an option, it is down to me to make it through every hour (which trust me at the minute, is no easy task). It just brings up that age old question, why is mental health seen as a Monday to Friday, 9-5 illness?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “That Friday Feeling….

  1. saxybecs

    October 27, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    couldnt have summed it up better myself. being hit by stereotyping such as ‘time wasting’ doesnt help matters. just know youre not alone

     
  2. JanCorey

    October 30, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I have a cure for PTSD. First and foremost, continue to treat those claiming PTSD and continue to prescribe all those medications for them at tax-payers expense if that helps them out. But, the cure for PTSD is to completely eliminate any and all funding in cash to these soldiers claiming such a disorder, and that will soon dry up the fictitious and ludicrous waste of our tax-payers dollars. Amazing that PTSD never existed before the Gulf war, how did all our soldiers in history ever function without a monthly check based upon their PTSD-claim? Eliminate the money and we’ll eliminate the signs and symptoms. Easy-peasy.

     
    • femaleptsd

      November 2, 2012 at 8:01 pm

      Are you actually serious??? The fact you wrote ‘amazing that PTSD didn’t exist before the gulf war’. If you’re going to have an opinion on something at least make it an informed opinion!! Go away and research the history of PTSD (it’s not difficult or is that asking your brain to do too much?) and then make a decent comment – or how about this; go and research the history and then never come back!!

       
    • anonymous

      November 20, 2013 at 5:30 pm

      HIV/Aids didn’t exist before 1981 so I guess if we take all the people who have it off medical care they will just magically get better and no longer have it too then?

       

Leave a Reply

 
