RSS

Am I Ready for Therapy?

21 Jun

7 months after my last therapist went on maternity leave I now have an appointment through for my new therapist. The reason it has taken so long is because I’m changing the type of therapy. To be honest, I’m not 100% sure what kind of therapy we ended up using with my old therapist – we were supposed to use EMDR, but it was too triggering and so we ended up using a bit of cbt but mainly just talking about things. Therapy as a whole became quite risky, it seemed that it opened up so much and I was unable to really cope with my emotions between sessions and there was lots of overdoses (to knock myself out, rather than suicidal).

This time, I’m starting with an art therapist who is also a CAT (cognitive analytical therapy) therapist and so I really have no idea what to expect. I’ve purposely not researched it as I want to have an open mind. However, I’m really nervous about it.

It was whilst I was in therapy that I had both of my stays in hospital and I’m really worried that I’ll be opening this huge vat of emotions and not be able to cope with them. On the other hand, I know I’ve developed my coping strategies whilst I’ve not been in therapy and so I’m hoping they hold up to the test!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Am I Ready for Therapy?

  1. neowatercolour

    June 21, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    All good wishes that the therapy helps you – the combination of art therapist/CAT therapy sounds good, take the best care. x

     
  2. Samantha Jane

    June 22, 2013 at 1:34 am

    That sounds like something I would do well in. Good luck with the new stuff.

     

Leave a Reply

 
