RSS

Psychiatry Appointment

28 Jul

Tomorrow I have my quarterly appointment with my psychiatrist. It is essentially a catch up, making sure the meds I’m on are ok and if they need any change in the dosage.

However, after last weeks therapy assessment outcome, I feel I need to get everything off my chest. I told it all to my cc but as she is off she told me she wouldn’t have chance to explain my thoughts to my psychiatrist before my appointment.

I’m ok with this, I am more than capable of expressing my thoughts and opinions to my psychiatrist. I have a lot of respect for her, we have clashed heads somewhat in the past because we both speak our minds, but I also like her for that reason. When my cc realised she was off on the day of my appointment she said she wasn’t worried as I can more than hold my own, so now I just need to!

I’m pretty nervous about it, but only because I am still so annoyed about last weeks recommendation. When I spoke to my cc about it, she said we will review it when the therapists report comes through and that it isn’t a no, but just a not today.

I asked her how the circle can be broken because from my perspective they are saying I’m too high risk, but the reason I am high risk is because of the images and thoughts that are constantly going through my head with the trauma. I don’t need emotional regulation, I need help with the flashbacks and the fact I’m scared to sleep. I’d like to see how anyone (without trauma) deals with 2 hours sleep a night – if affects the mood in a massive way.

Using an analogy, I also told my cc that I feel that I’ve gone to my GP two years ago with a sore arm (PTSD symptoms) and initially they have tried treating that, but then they’ve seen a problem with my leg (even though I’ve never had any issues with it) and they decide to concentrate on that. And last weeks assessment makes me feel like they are recommending putting my leg in plaster and I keep saying but what about my arm? That’s my problem, why can’t we treat my arm?

I’m not sure how all this will come over to my psychiatrist tomorrow, but I can only hope I fight my corner well enough!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Psychiatry Appointment

  1. neowatercolour

    July 28, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    very best of luck with your appointment and I hope you get your points across – they sound perfectly reasonable and logical when you write them here ! very best .. .x

     
    • femaleptsd

      July 28, 2013 at 6:16 pm

      Thanks very much – it’s just when they are so set in their thinking, it’s hard to shift them x

       
      • casse

        July 29, 2013 at 12:12 am

        I KNOW EXACTLY HOW YOU FEEL . YOUR ANOLOGY WAS EXCELLENT. I TO WENT THROUGH YEARS OF NOT BEING ABLE TO SLEEP. THEY ALWAYS ASSUME YOU ARE TAKING NAPS, WHICH I WAS NOT. IT CAME TO HEAD WHEN I FELL OF THE TIOLET BECAUSE I FOUND SAFETY I GUESS IN BATHROOM. I WAS NOT HIGH DRUNK OR MEDICATED. MY HUSBAND FOUND ME FACE DOWN HOW LONG I DO NOT KNOW. I HAD A CONCUSSION WHICH I IGNORED BECAUSE I THOUGHT NO WORSE THAN I USUALLY FEEL
        EVERY DAY I WOULD CALL THE DOCTORS THEY SAID AND SAY GO TO THE E.R. AND AFTERWARDS FORGET, IT MUST HAVE BEEN SOME CONCUSSION IN PROCESS OF THE FALL I HAD BRUISES ALL OVER THE ER WHEN MY HUSBAND FINALLY DRAGED ME TO THE DOCTORS SAID A MONTH FOR YOUR HEAD 2 MONTHS FOR YOUR NECK AND I CAN’T REMEMBER HOW LONG FOR MY SHOULDERS. AND 6 WEEKS FOR THE BROKEN TOE…..
        I WAS UPSET BECAUSE I GOT THE VERY SAME PAIN MEDICATION I AT HOME. AND ONLY NEARLY A YEAR LATER I AM DEALING WITH MORE PAIN BUT LESS MEMORIES. HOWEVER THAT BEING SAID MY SEXUAL ASSUALT WAS A RESULT OF A DOCTOR. SO EVERYTIME I GO TO A DOCTOR I GET REALLY PARANIOD ANXIETY AND PANIC ATTACKS ABOUND. I DRIVE MY HUSBAND TO HIS OWN BREAKING POINT!!!! THEN I MANAGED TO BE IN THE SAME PLACE I WAS BEFORE. NO SLEEP NO APPETITE AND LAYING AROUND WAITING TO SOMEKIND OF EXECUTION, MIND GAMES PREVAIL HOW TO ACT TO PREVENT ANY MORE
        TESTS. ON TOP OF THAT I SUFFER FROM AGRPHOBIA I DO NOT GO OUT FOR PLEASURE
        WHY SHOULD I GO OUT FOR WEALTH OF PAIN THAT ONE MOMENT TIME HAS CAUSED.
        SINCE I WE HAVE DRIVE A TOTAL OF 400 MILES FOR ONE DAMN TEST WHY SHOULD EVEN GO…….WHAT A LIFE NOW I SURF SLEEP I AWAKE AN YLIKE A QUIET NOISE BUT JETS AND SIERNSI WILL NOT NOTICE. AS A REWARD FOR FALLING AGAIN I GET SENT TO A DAMN
        PAIN CLINIC!!!!!!!!!! I WISH TO GOD I WOULD I COULD LET GO OF MY FEARS OF DOCTORS.
        BUT EACH ONE SEEMS TO BE JUST FOLLOWING A PRESET AGENDA OF WHAT TO DO AND I DO NOT LIE……MAYBE THATS WHAT I SHOULD DO IS JUST SAY IAM FINE!!!!! WHEN ONE LOOK AT ME THEY COULD CLEAR SEE I AM NOT. THIS PROBABLY DOES NOT HELP YOU BUT IT HELP ME………………THANK YOU.
        .

         
  2. monstiegirl

    July 28, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    You should be really proud that your cc has confidence like that in you. I hope your psychiatrist understands your dilemma and will finally get you some help to break the cycle. I’ll be thinking of you xx

     
    • femaleptsd

      July 28, 2013 at 6:25 pm

      Yes, I’m lucky to have an amazing cc who understands me and what I need! Thanks so much x

       
  3. Pam Smith

    July 28, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    It’s great to know that you have a good cc. I hope the psychiatrist is able to understand how very unhelpful it is for you to be treated (or not treated!) like this. FWIW you seem to have made huge strides forwards in terms of how you’re dealing with things, and I hope the psychiatrist sees this. Not sure if I told you about when our son had ME as a child, we were referred to CAMHS (child psychiatry) for emotional support and ended up with them trying to diagnose him as being on the autism spectrum! Very upsetting and frustrating at the time, and still makes me angry.

     
    • femaleptsd

      July 28, 2013 at 8:10 pm

      No, you didn’t mention that – it’s so frustrating that you just want you to be in a box and a nice label to ‘treat’. The problem is a consultant psychiatrist is top of the tree and so it seems what they say sticks – whereas I see the team as a whole, having their roles – not her more important than others x

       

Leave a Reply

 
