RSS

Tough Week in PTSD Land

29 Aug

Since my last post, I have been in a pretty bad state. I’ll be honest and am still struggling to see things any differently to how I did in my previous post, but this is a quick update on what’s happened since.

In terms of services, I had been avoiding my care co-ordinator in the run up to my attempt. This was for two reasons; firstly I am very honest with her and I knew that if she asked me anything about suicidal thoughts etc, then I would have been honest and told her, thus defeating the point of my plans. Secondly, I was still so in the air after the therapy decision that I truly didn’t know what she could do for me anymore.

So whilst I had been avoiding her, my cc had tried to get in touch via mail and on my bday she was on weekend duty and left me a voicemail wishing me a happy birthday. And then when I checked my mail on the day after I got out of hospital, she had also sent me a birthday card (yes I know how lucky I am to have the cc I do!). However, all in all, I had avoided her for about two weeks and so when I called last Tuesday to speak to her and she wasn’t in, I asked duty to leave her a message to call me as soon as she could. Just so you know, I never say as soon as possible – I figure that she knows I need calling back and has her own triage system so by me saying that, it was showing the urgency.

Luckily, she phoned first thing weds morning and arranged to come straight out. It went as well as it could have done. We spoke about me feeling I had no support in the two weeks that they knew were my worse and she explained her point of view. That in the past, I have taken to bed, hidden under the covers and when things have passed, I’ve got back in touch. She explained that she was trying to respect that and not hound me, but yet know she was there by sending letters etc. I understood her point and realised that plus avoiding her for the above reasons, I had to take a huge part of the responsibility of why I had no support.

I told her how I was currently feeling, and she said she couldn’t leave me knowing I was still suicidal but I explained that I didn’t have any means and I was in such a mess that I couldn’t be bothered to do anything. That I trusted myself. We put a huge emphasis on my word as I always keep it and she knows that. And so she left but arranged to come back on Friday.

To be honest, nothing had really changed in those two days. I’d managed a shower, which was huge, but I was still very reflective and still physically not feeling great. We discussed my options as she was due annual leave for two weeks. She explained that if I had spoken to her earlier than Wednesday I’d be in hospital now but she’s hoping we just need to ride the wave, in the community, and then try and move forward. I told her I was never going back to hospital and if she says that then it just pushes me to put my wall up if feeling that way. She said that on that statement alone, she didn’t feel she could just leave me to stay under my duvet in the future and if I didn’t answer her calls, she’d be knocking on the door with a warrant. I explained I didn’t mean it that way and she knew that I didn’t, that honesty is important to me and will continue to have my word.

Anyway, after going back and forth with the options available (home treatment team, duty etc), we decided on a colleague of hers stepping in to her shoes for the two weeks and doing visits etc and also being a point of call if I needed it.

And that brings me pretty much to this week. Since seeing her on Friday, I haven’t been out of bed except for a quick 4am visit to the supermarket and a few 5 or 10 min episodes on the sofa. I haven’t showered and not eaten much or drank much. Stupidly, I think if I don’t drink then that means I don’t need to get up for the toilet. I’ve not slept for longer than 25 mins a handful of times since last Tuesday. My mum has been back from holiday since Friday and I haven’t seen her since then and I cancelled the appointment with my cc’s colleague. I know I’m isolating myself, but right now I just can’t be bothered. Whilst some see it as negative, it also means that whilst I can’t be bothered to get up, I also can’t be bothered to do anything about my suicidal thoughts!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Tough Week in PTSD Land

  1. Samantha Jane

    August 29, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    I’m sorry you are going through such a rough time right now… 😦

     
  2. Norman Bussel

    August 31, 2013 at 1:14 am

    Shrink asked me, “Do you ever have suicidal thoughts?” Yes. “When?” Every day, but I never act on them because a Nazi soldier would have his finger on the trigger. Not me.
    Get out of bed. You have nothing to be ashamed of. Set a goal of helping other vets.
    I file benefits claims for vets. Hearing their awful stories spikes my PTSD. But it’s worth it when I win them an award and I get a hug and, “Thanks.”
    Always have faith in the promise of tomorrow. I have faith in you.

     
  3. merryquitecontrary1

    September 1, 2013 at 8:33 am

    I always want to comment on your posts but for some reason, one can only assume fear, I don’t. I just wanted you to know that I understand how very hard all of this is.

     
    • femaleptsd

      September 1, 2013 at 9:51 am

      Thanks so much for the comment, hopefully now you’ve posted one, you’ll post lots more x

       
  4. Nichola Elder

    June 27, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    This is literally exactly what is happenening with me now :/ my cc goes on annual leave next Friday for two weeks… She has spent the last week trying to convince me that I should agree to hospital admission ( but it’s not an option for me-multiple reasons) she wants crisis team involved but after the last experience I had with them I am very reluctant to put myself In that position again… She wants to hand me to her colleague (who I’ve never met) to take over whilst she is away… But this freaks me out…. I’m catch 22 cos she said yesterday that if she needed to call someone to have me taken to hospital she would…. This scares me more… I know she has my safety and best interests at heart. Right now she is trusting me to keep myself safe… She made me promise to call the crisis team over the weekend if I needed to…. I’m trying so hard to stay safe…..but thoughts are very intrusive and compulsions to act are strong…. However when I saw cc on Tuesday I did surrender my means of suicide for her to dispose of (I could replace them but that means leaving the house and I don’t feel safe doing that)

    Just wish I was well!

     

Leave a Reply

 
